The developer of Fortnite called Epic Games released an account merging feature for the Fortnite Battle Royale in November 2018. If a player has more than once account on several platforms across PC, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and so on, this lets them combine the accounts, transferring cosmetic items, V-Bucks, the campaign access of Save the World and many more.
There are some important things to take a note when merging your Fortnite accounts. First, an account has to be played on Xbox One or Nintendo Switch and the other on PS4 before September 28, 2018 to be eligible. Second, your accounts cannot be merged if one is currently banned or disabled. Third, you need access to all of the email addresses associated with the accounts you want to merge.
How long does it take to merge the Fortnite accounts? The process does not take too much of your time. Here is how to merge Fortnite accounts. The first thing that you have to do is to go to https://www.epicgames.com/fortnite/account-merge/en-US/accounts/primary and choose a Primary Account. It is the one you will continue using after the merge is done. Then, login to that account. Epic Games will send you an email that consists the code you will need to enter to continue. The next thing that you have to do is to choose a Secondary Account to merge and disable, and login to that account as well. After that, follow the on screen prompts to finish the merge.
What does or what does not transfer after a Fortnite account merge? Once both of your Fortnite accounts are combined, all purchased content is shared across all supported platforms, including all the cosmetic items that you have purchased in Fortnite Battle Royale mode. The players who play Fortnite Save the World will keep their Llamas, Defenders, Schematics, Survivors, Evolution, XP, Heroes, and Perk Materials. The other items such as Support a Creator status, Creative Islands, Unreal Marketplace items, and Save the World account level and progress will not carry over from the Secondary Account. Aside from that, purchased V-Bucks, the name of Fortnite in game currency, are also shared between all supported platforms, and any content you buy with them will be available as well.
As stated before, merging the Fortnite accounts does not actually take a long time but it will take about two weeks for Fortnite cosmetic items and V-Bucks to transfer into your Primary Account after you merge accounts.
Merging Fortnite accounts is not important but taking benefit of the feature makes the players easier to play the game on multiple devices, sharing progress and purchased items across platforms and eliminating the need for some logins.
For more information about merging Fortnite accounts, feel free to ask the customer service of Epic Games. Before contacting the customer service, it is better for you to visit the official website of Epic Games and find the answer to your question by yourself on the site.